Photography fate in store for me and Lucy Luxe!

Good evening, Steemit and friends in the crypto-shere. Coming to you from a rainy, humid Twin Cities night, I’m finally sitting down to write and share new photography. I’ve been struggling with a Magic: The Gathering Commander deck lately, losing far more than I’m used to. I barely slept last night because I was thinking of ways I could modify it. Today I went and picked up another 15 or so cards, swapped out Commanders and won two out of three against @tarotbyfergus. Finally, getting that monkey off my back.

Tonight’s photography is from Viva Las Vegas. My most recent photo tour throughout LA and Las Vegas. I had so many shoots during that time my head was spinning. Steemit is wonderful because I have an opportunity to relive these shoots one at a time; a chance to recall the details that tend to get swept up in the melee. This beautiful New Zealand model’s name is Lucy Luxe and it was such a pleasure to shoot with her.

How can I prove to you that it was a pleasure to shoot with her? You won’t be able to tell by looking at the photos but this was one of the most stressful days of the trip. I had a shoot in the morning, then a Dark Pinup book signing at the Viva Las Vegas car show with @wcpublishing. Two shoots with two Lucy’s […my friend Lucy Fur the same night], and hours beforehand, I received notice that the location I had arranged fell through. There’s always a couple of disasters that happen during these big tours and this was one of them. How you handle it is what really counts.

I made called and my lovely friend Lisa came through with a wonderful couple that was willing to allow me to shoot both Lucy’s at their home on almost no notice. Credit to me for thinking on my feet and making dependable friends; credit to Lucy Luxe for being so easy going in the face of changing plans. I really admire that quality, especially because some of these girls […especially the ones that are a long way from home] tend to plan the Rockabilly Weekend a year in advance. Changes like this can make them very anxious, but Lucy rolled with it.

I could go on and on about how great of a model Lucy was to work with. She was a dream. One of the things I have to mention, though is my favorite byproduct of this job. It’s the weirdness factor. The unexpected that I run in to, especially with spontaneous plans changing like this shoot. The couple who offered us their home were avid and passionate collectors of crazy rare and exotic fish. Check out the background of this last image on the couch! If I tried, I couldn’t come up with a giant tank or colorful fish, but under these circumstances, it was just meant to be.

Thanks for reading, upvoting and resteeming! For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now