A Red Clover blossom

1a5d62ad-16df-4899-8983-6a2f4f559f74.jpeg


When I was a kid I remember my grandmother telling me and showing me that these red clover flowers have sweet necter when you pull the little red petals off of the head and suck on the white tips of the petals. The whole plant is edible and farmers use it for feed for farm animals. It also put high amounts of nitrogen back into the ground so they plant it as a cover crop or they spread it over the ground as fertilizer. Crops such as corn and soybeans need nitrogen and draw it out of the ground so farmers suppliment it occassionly with clover manure or clover hay. I'll leave a link below if your interested in learning about red clover.

https://goo.gl/QtYasL


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now