Chernobyl Before the Craze

Here is a set of eerie photos from my recent trip to Chernobyl to welcome the arrival of HF21 and #NewSteem.

ckzeitz5p2.jpg

I was lucky to visit the Chernobyl site before it became massively popular following HBO's TV series. Still, there were over 1000 tourists on that day in April, which took away from the feeling of desolation.

The radiation levels rarely exceeded 4-5 times the normal background radiation that can be measured in most cities. In other words, it was pretty safe to spend time in Pripyat and its surroundings
gh0o7zj7uk.jpg

Flora is thriving in parts of the exclusion zone
tk78qa6b3c.jpg

Back to NewSteem - I powered up most of my Steem the other day, thus becoming a dolphin. Although this doesn't mean much in terms of voting power, I plan on testing the new set of blockchain rules in the coming weeks. Let's see how it goes.

y5wd4yvuuc.jpg

Cheers!
Dan

t2phdef2wx.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now