The last historic photograph of the St Petersburg Pier (FL) NSFW

In March of 2014, I visited Florida for the first time in my adult life. I rented an SUV for 1 week and drove down from Ann Arbor, Michigan. The purpose of my visit was to attend an event/gallery show in Tampa. Since I was going to be spending 3 days in the Tampa Bay area, I did a quick search of the surrounding "famous landmarks" and tons of locations in St Petersburg popped up, the first being the St Petersburg Pier.

This inverted pyramid was so beloved by the citizens of St Petersburg that the idea of tearing it down for a new one put tons of pressure on the shoulders of the mayor to weigh all options to save the building and replace the 100+ year old pier from under it. Hence the title.

Pier 20x10.jpg
"Pier Pressure" (shot Saturday March, 8 2014, between 1:30PM and 1:45PM)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center