Shanghai Marriage Market

Peoples' Park, Matchmaking Market

On Sunday morning, my daughters were at a matinee of the new Despicable Me movie with their classmates near Peoples Square so I had some time on my hands.I popped into Peoples' Park to take some photos. 

I had heard of the parents who turn up on Sunday mornings to 'advertise' their offspring, looking for suitable matches, but I didn't realise the scale of it. 

A huge section of the park was given over to this and the paths were lined with open umbrellas on which the children's' (most seemed to be 30 something and university educated) details were pinned.

I'm sure many of the parents are there without the knowledge or consent of their kids as one man became particularly irate when he realised that he was in one of my photos. He made it very clear that I wasn't going anywhere until the photo was deleted.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now