Making Bugs Big [Original Macro Photography]

Howdy,

The rains have returned with a vengeance! However, as it's #macromonday, I wanted to share a few more fascinating creatures of the tiny and multi-legged variety.

MM201920190629EOS_3856.jpg
Shiny!

This green fly had a metallic green paint job. I wish my Jeep matched, color-wise! When it turned around, I snapped another that shows the color a bit better.

MM201920190629EOS_3876.jpg
Green Bug Butt

Being a shiny insect seems like it would be a bad thing, as least when it comes to being spotted and eaten by preditors. Perhaps it helps them blend into the environment, somehow...

MM201920190629EOS_3883.jpg
Tiny

This photo was really tricky. My camera is far from top of the line, and focusing in macro is hard with the best equipment. Fortunately, Tiny was a very patient little fella and let me get things lined up and take multiple shots. In the end, I even managed to line things up so that the flower's stamen and the insect were in focus.

If you click on the image to see the full resolution and zoom in on the bug, you may notice that it seems be wearing shoes. The bottoms of all six legs have a black spot! This is the first time I've ever seen one of these. The total body size was smaller than a grain of rice. I actually thought it was just a speck of dust at first.

WARNING:

To save those of you who don't like spiders from trauma, the next image is hidden unless you actually click for full resolution. If you don't like spiders, I suggest not clicking it. You have been warned!

Spidy.jpg
Not So Itsy Bitsy

The previous image was one I found crawling up the ceiling along the stairs from the basement. The find launched a vacuuming frenzy. We've had them living in the basement since the house was built and, while they're basically harmeless, nobody wants to see a spider with a six-inch leg-span crawling up their stairs with an egg sac. Yuck!

Still, it made for a fascinating image!

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center