Testing Light

tes1.jpg

A rare event of me planning for a future shoot, by doing a preliminary test what the light looks like in this spot in the afternoon. I shot these pretty fast, just to try it out and see what I have to work with.

I think I can do some nice portrait work with the linen curtains filtering the light, but what I might try is digging out a reflector which I never use, to try and bounce some light to my face. I think having my hair up in a some sort of bun will also work better than having my hair down, it draws out the silhouette more clear, though light coming through the hair is an effect on it's own. I would also wear something else, because if in colour, the pure white shirt doesn't work with natural white curtains. Probably easiest to just go nude. Additionally, I might situate myself higher so there isn't that dark balcony railing gutting me from the middle. If I go hardcore, I could iron the curtains, but that seems a little too extreme. Will probably just pull then more straight so there isn't any dark lines vertically cutting me.

What do you think of this setting and do you have any suggestions or improvements you would like to add?


Shot with the Fujifilm X100F.

tes2.jpg

tes3.jpg

tes4.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center