Falling Sun + Testing a "New" Nikkor Lens

fAL1.jpg

I'm currently in Hellsinki with @escapist and we spend the day in the modern art museum taking lots of pictures. I'll post about that tomorrow probably, but if you don't want to wait, you can head over here to see what the bff photographed there. Before we went to the museum, I wanted to go to an electronics store to touch some Macbooks, because I need to buy one soon. We did some very sneaky Steemit promoting over there and left Steemit open for several Macbooks, wonder if we got anyone interested :P

Aaaaanyways, today I'm sharing with you pictures taken 400 kilometers north from here last week. These pictures were the first test shots with my new (previously owned by the bff) Nikkor 70-300mm 4-5.6G lens, and of course using the Nikon D7200. I know nothing about the technical stuff so my "review" is based more on the initial feel I got from using it.

First of all, it's an older model and it doesn't have the VR stabilizer thingy, so it's somewhat impossible to get a sharp image without a tripod. And even with a tripod, I think the image is not that clear, hmm.

Another thing I noticed is that I get crazy lens flairs reaaaally easily with this one, so I might have to try it with a lens hood, I have those lying around somewhere.

In my mind I keep comparing this to the Nikkor 55-200mm 4-5.6G, which I use all the time and love dearly. I can shoot with it without a tripod and it produces really nice, vibrant images without me even trying that hard. The overall image quality just isn't that good with the 70-300mm one, but I definitely need to play around with it more to see what I can get out of it.

I think next time I should take both of those lenses with me and do a side-by-side comparison. But for now, the 55-200mm beats this one 100-0.

fal2.jpg

fal3.jpg

fal4.jpg

There it goes, bye bye.

If there are any photographers that shoot with Nikon, what lens do you reach out for the most?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now