Monarda and Salsify

20180713_111625.jpg

Greetings Steemians!

Little did I know, this giant puffball is not a Dandelion at all. Its the remnants of the Salsify flower. Its starts off as a fairly small purple flower and then dries out to disperse its seeds like a Dandelion does.

20180713_111635.jpg

Salsify has edible roots, herbal properties and is a source of several vitamins and minerals.

When I took this picture, I just thought the giant delicate puff was a great contrast to the vibrant color of the Monarda surrounding it. I'm constantly amazed by how many plants, which naturally grow in my yard, have medicinal/herbal uses. Just like with the Mullein Weed, when I first saw it growing almost as tall as my garage, I thought it was a really strange plant and clueless to benefits. I love learning about plants!

P.S. As a surprise bonus, if you look really closely, you will see a little blur which is actually a bumblebee hovering between two of the Mullein stalks (didn't realize I captured it in the photo!)

20180713_103606.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center