Sneaking Through a Back Lawn to Capture a Creepy Broken Down Caretaker's house and Centuries Old Cemetery--(Don't miss the surreal pictures at the end)

On Halloween I posted a Ghost story about another centuries old cemetery, but as bad a shape as that one was in, it at least had its own entrance, though no name just like this one.

Even though it's in my hometown, I didn't know this existed until I was talking to a friend about the one from my previous post. There is a way of getting to it through the woods apparently, but I decided to go the simpler route- and since no one was home to ask, I felt like a little kid as I darted the twenty steps across the lawn.

They don't own the cemetery itself, so once on it I could breathe easy..err, well no corporeal person was going to chase me anyway.

wastedcemetery.jpeg



This is definitely the kind of place my friends and I would have dared each other to sneak into late at night when we were teens, and yes, I do mean the building too. But before you think too poorly of us, we wouldn't have broken anything, we were strictly snoopers.

wastedcemetery13.jpeg



There's not much to say until we get near the bottom, that's when things get a bit, well gross, and then odd.

wastedcemetery2.jpeg



wastedcemetery4.jpeg



wastedcemetery5.jpeg



wastedcemetery8.jpeg



wastedcemetery9.jpeg



wastedcemetery11.jpeg



wastedcemetery12.jpeg



wastedcemetery14.jpeg



wastedcemetery21.jpeg



wastedcemetery23.jpeg



wastedcemetery24.jpeg



wastedcemetery20.jpeg



There was a huge amount of inscribing on this stone, more than I'd ever seen on any before it.

wastedcemetery15.jpeg



And as I got near the bottom a few words were covered up by a rock...

wastedcemetery16.jpeg



...which I made the big mistake of pulling back to find exactly what you would expect at a cemetery- maggots and other scuttling things which startled me right onto my ass.

A weird feeling began at this moment, though I laughed at myself figuring it was just the cliche of decay. Still, I decided I'd seen enough and headed back the way I'd come.

wastedcemetery17.jpeg



Taking several more pictures as I went...the gold you see in this, it's the sun, at least it has to be, though I didn't notice as I was taking it.

wastedcemetery25.jpeg



Or this either.

wastedcemetery26.jpeg



I did see it finally here, and I've never seen anything quite like it before. I promise you it was pure coincidence (I hope...shiver) that I was smack in the middle of it.

wastedcemetery27.jpeg



That strange feeling followed me home and lingered for awhile, though I couldn't call it a bad feeling, (not once I got over the heebie jeebies of the maggots and scuttle bugs)

I am endlessly fascinated by cemeteries, but the next one I post will be the polar opposite of this, breathtakingly beautiful. So stay tuned!

wastedcemetery29.jpeg



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire


Have you filled your witness votes?
Vote for these passionate and competent souls: @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank and @dragosroua; https://steemit.com/~witnesses

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center