Do NOT buy a 4K screen if you are using lightroom

Yes ... I said it.

I bought a 4K screen a couple of weeks ago. AOC - 28 inch - 4K.

First the good news:

I's a very esthetically pleasing screen, which is important as it is sitting in my living room and I have a wife. So that's a plus. Secondly, my pictures look gorgeous on this screen, the detail, colors ... If you have seen your photos on a 4k screen you'll never want to go back.
Also ... there's sooo much room on the desktop, and windows scaling is quite OK with the latest versions (not everything, bust most important stuff, looks just fine!)

But now the really bad news:

When using lightroom everything just comes to a halt, I mean 1995 levels of speed. And my computer spec wise is quite ok. I't a couple of years old, but still has a decent quad-core and the videocard was recently upgraded to a nvidia 1060 GTX.

So here I am right now trying to edit some pictures, and it makes me rage. I scoured the internet, for solutions, and tried them all. And there's a lot of people complaining on the internet about this phenomenon.

  • make the lightroom cache much bigger
  • Generate full preview of all your pics
  • Move all the pics to an SSD
  • enable/disable video acceleration
  • Don't do noise reduction until the last step

But it is still unbearably slow. And I don't just mean just editing pictures, also scrolling in the library, everything. This program is seriously not optimized for 4K.

So my conclusion: If you want gorgeous looking pictures, by all means, buy a 4K screen ... if you actually want to get some work done stay away, until adobe get's their stuff fixed.

Bonus pic: some tiny tiny flowers :)DSC03694.jpg

follow: @divyne - follow/resteem - warn the others of lightroom with 4K!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center