Lost data

As a photographer/videographer, I use massive amounts of storage! My number one choice for storing my files, up until about 2016, was ext HDDs; I've always had a skydrive/OneDrive and Google account,but used those for small things.

With work picking up and need to deliver, I made the change and migrated to onedrive. Things were cool there, immediate access to all photos and video, sharable links with permission control, mobile access, and even expiring links!!! I was geeked!!!

The trouble with ondrive started with a scare. One morning before work, I decided to upload photos from the night before, but the directory was empty. I refreshed, checked on multiple devices, and refreshed again... Nothing. Needless to say, I was heated. Luckily, I was backing up to my home PC at the time so I had a month old image of the drive; still lost alot. I uploaded what I had and just took the L for what was lost, BUT 2 days later I had 2 seemingly identical directories in OneDrive 🤔

This was enough to push me to leave, but I didn't. I'd grown fond of my captor, trying to justify what happened but they just couldn't get their shit together. A month after all of that, the desktop app went to shit on my laptop. This pretty much rendered OneDrive useless and I went over to Google drive.

I had an update on my PC a few days ago. When it happened, it reset my Google sync/backup app; I needed to log in again and go through all the steps as if I'd just downloaded it. With that Google needed to 'merge' the existing folder I had, which was 685GB. I understood it as using the same directory and files, but it meant it was just going to be 2 copies (over 1TB), which I didn't have.

I deleted what was on my PC and synced the Google drive, BUT what I'd previously saved and was under the impression had been synced to Google drive didn't for some reason meaning I lost about 3 days worth of work... Hard work (2 interviews and a 1st draft of a visual for a song).

Shooketh I am as I'm reluctant to use it again, but the convenience will be hard to leave behind. The process of trying to recover deleted files is shit and I'm about an HR into my second attempt 😒 wish me luck
20180522_070406.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center