Vitamin Sea... Photography in Southern Leyte, Philippines

While doing development work several years ago, I traveled to quite a number of places in different provinces of the Philippines. Way back then, I took photos of different things in places where I have been to. This photo collection in nature was taken in the province of Southern Leyte in the Eastern Visayas Region. While doing community development work in the covered villages, I also do photo taking because a walk with nature appeases my busy soul.

pic 035.jpg
I took this photo in the municipality of San Francisco where we have been housed in a little resort to train women volunteers in the village.

DSC01411.JPG
We had a staff meeting then at the municipality of Libagon. Our municipal office was located near the coast just a few meters away from the local government unit office. This was taken at sunset after we had our meeting.

DSCN1194.JPG
I forgot if this was sunrise or sunset but I took this photo in my hometown in Malitbog.

4.JPG
In Pintuyan, this was sunrise. I was with the field enumerators under my department who were gathering baseline data as basis for some projects to be implemented in the municipality. We went swimming with my colleagues before we head to the next town to continue our baseline data gathering.

6.jpg
This was taken in my hometown, Malitbog few minutes before sunset. Everytime we go home for summer vacation, we always go swimming in this beautiful bay.

7.jpg
I took this photo few minutes before sunset in Liloan. My regular visit to the field had never been boring because of this beautiful and relaxing scenery.

9.jpg
This was taken in Malitbog, in a place we call "The Dike." I grew up swimming in this beautiful bay we call Sogod Bay.

10.JPG
I took this photo in Malitbog in the afternoon while relaxing after swimming. I always find serenity in this place.

13.jpg
Still in Malitbog, this photo was taken at noontime. We had our 7th Grand Family Reunion in this place we call Bag-ao Beach Resort.

104_0450.JPG
We went swimming in Libagon. I love this place!

109_0988.JPG
Sunset in Malitbog. It's getting dark but the sea is so calm I couldn't think of going home without taking a dip! :)

DSCN1189.JPG
In Pintuyan, the source of living of most people are fishing and farming. Identified as a fifth class municipality, our international non-government organization (INGO) provided fishing gears at the same time gave trainings to the villagers.

DSC00295.JPG
From Pintuyan, you see the beautiful and historical island of Limasawa where the first Catholic mass in the Philippines was said by Father Pedro de Valderrama on March 31, 1521. Father Pedro was one of the companions of the famous navigator Ferdinand Magellan, a Portuguese who worked for the government of Spain.

DSC01530.JPG
A view from the top. San Francisco at its best!

IMG_0002.JPG
A view of Limasawa Island from the municipality of San Ricardo.

Just to give you a brief overview of the places I've been to in the pictures above, Southern Leyte is one of the six provinces in the Eastern Visayas Region. It is a gateway to both Mindanao and Luzon.

map (1).jpg
Source: http://www.southernleyte.gov.ph/component/search/?searchword=tourism&searchphrase=all&Itemid=235

The province of Southern Leyte is composed of 18 municipalities and 1 city, Maasin which is the capital. Please visit this site http://www.southernleyte.gov.ph/general-information/at-a-glance for more information about Southern Leyte. As you can see in the map below, Southern Leyte offers a vast number of beautiful resorts and dive sites. I would personally recommend Cagnituan Cave in Maasin City. I've been to this place in 2003. It is so overwhelming once you're inside this big cave.

map.jpg
Source: https://www.google.com.ph/search?q=philippines+map+southern+leyte&dcr=0&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiXy6rk2tTYAhVCGpQKHcCCBRMQ_AUICigB&biw=1024&bih=510#imgrc=oI0MWs6rw4qg9M:

Well, how do you get to Southern Leyte? Just take a boat from Cebu City to Maasin City or Bato, Leyte or Hilongos, Leyte. Below please find relevant sites to include shipping schedule and fares.

http://www.cokaliongshipping.com/#sched (Cebu City to Maasin City)
http://www.cpa.gov.ph/external/sailing_schedules_cebu-leyte.pdf (Cebu City to Bato, Leyte or Hilongos, Leyte). From there, just take a bus or a jeepney or a V-hire to Maasin City or to any place in Southern Leyte. Resorts and local accommodation are available in each municipality but bigger pension houses are located in Maasin City.

If you're planning for a vacation to Southern Leyte, Philippines, let me know so I can assist you! :)

Enjoy!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center