My Best Photo of The Milky Way Galaxy That I've Ever Taken. Mount Cook, New Zealand. What Do You Think?

Milky way - mount Cook New Zealand

It was -10ºC (14°F) and my fingers felt like they were about to fall off. Still, what a beauty of a night sky.
Captured 9 weeks ago in Mount Cook, New Zealand. It's winter down here.

Plus a different vertical version showing more of the Milky Way.

Milky way - mount Cook New Zealand

I originally posted the vertical version here: https://www.instagram.com/p/BGWa6I1w7Sh/?taken-by=daxon

Shot using a Canon 5d with a 16-35mm 2.8f

Anyone can take astro photos. It's just about having a good SLR and being in the right place at the right time.
For this I used a wide angle lens, tripod and set my camera settings to

  • 25" shutter speed
  • 2000 ISO
  • 2.8 apature

As unbelievable as it looks we in the Southern Hemisphere are lucky to be facing into the Milky Way. You'll just have to come down to see it yourself. But it's freezing!

Always look up.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center