keep a little summer in your heart when the temperature is below zero


one must maintain a little bit of summer
even in the middle of winter
HD Thoreau


We took a country drive today just a little north from our house. The sky was blue and the sun was shining, a perfect day for a drive.

I wanted to capture some photos without having to step out into the frigid cold. I thought it would be easy to sit on my heated seat in our vehicle, open a window and get a few snowy images.

It was awkward straining out the window while wearing a puffy winter coat and trying to avoid the side view mirror while setting up a shot. I ended up getting out of the car and stepping by the side of the road.

Only problem — where I stepped was right into 3 feet of snow. My mukluks filled with white stuff causing my feet to instantly burn. As I leaned on the front hood of the car to steady my camera my husband decided that was the best time to move the car forward. He laughed hysterically. My face was too frozen to make my feelings known one way or the other.

When the wind picked up I could hardly push the shutter button and trying to focus was difficult because my eyes were blurring.

I did get in a few shots - 104 of them - and when we returned home I noticed I had the wrong settings on my camera. Some of the photos are okay but others are strange colors, sandy, sepia almost.

photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

© all rights reserved


#challenge30days Writing Challenge hosted by @dragosroua


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center