What A Year This Week Has Been

Night 1 s.jpg

These past four days have been some of the most intense, wild, long, and crazy days that I have ever experienced. I intend to go into more detail later but for now I want to give you a little idea of what has been happening here these last few days.

The photo is from Wednesday night, shortly before the police declared us an unlawful assembly and started shooting pepper balls and flashbangs/concussion grenades at us. From there things escalated quickly, with tear gas and gunfire also putting in apperances (and this was just the first night, and before the 9pm curfew). There's not been any more gunfire since that first night be the police response has been the same every night. We have had a state representative arrested, seen a church offering sanctuary to protesters surrounded by hundreds of police on multiple occasions, and been outright lied to by the police (they told us that we were free to go home without fear of arrest only to have them stop and arrest people anyway).

I started to write a post last night as we waited for them to storm the building as they were threatening to do but surprisingly, cooler heads prevailed somewhere and they backed down. Although I am slightly disappointed that I didn't get o make a post on my way to jail, I'm also really happy it didn't come to that. I'm still processing everything that has happened, I will write more on it soon. Until then, y'all be safe out there.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center