Freelance Struggles

Hey guys!
I have a few things to discuss about being your own boss.
I have been full time freelance for a few months now and I have run into a few struggles. Does anyone else in freelance face the same issues? How do you overcome them? I added some photos of me taken by my friend, Alexander Just at our studio.
BB (1 of 1).JPG

  1. Organization-
    I have been doing so much more cleaning lately! I've realized that if anything is out of order even a little bit then I will quickly gain speed on getting backed up. The more organized I am, the quicker I can work. If a client asks about images from last month then I need to know exactly where they are and how to find them. My office is in my home and if my home is messy then I can not concentrate on work that day.
  1. Friends and Business
    I have had a few friends hire me for photo sessions and they don't take me as serious as a professional. This is the hardest thing for me as a freelancer. I have friends who just put off paying me and ask if they can "just see the images anyways". How do I balance friendship and professionalism? It has me puzzled. I feel like I am a debt collector to my friends while I constantly say ,"You owe me money still."

BB2 (1 of 1).JPG

  1. Being Aggressive
    I have been told that I am very passive and big hearted. After years of getting walked on, I have learned to be more aggressive. I still have the tendency to be passive and because of that I lose gigs sometimes. Between my power poses and mirror conversations(my roommate thinks I'm crazy), does anyone have any other advice on being more confidant at closing sales? For some reason men in business do not take me seriously. I have had 4 meetings with business owners last month and they were all men who seemed interested in my visual marketing package. They all later called me to ask me out or hire me and pay me in .... (I kid you not) sex.
    BB1 (1 of 1).JPG

  2. Staying Healthy
    Freelance is stressful! It also requires so much of your attention. If I do not take care of myself by eating healthy and working out, then I get slow. By slow I mean... CHUBBY, LAZY, and UNHAPPY. I can't let the stress get to me and I need an outlet. An outlet for many is booze. If I have a night out then I screw up a lot of my time and my projects get behind. Don't get me wrong, I love a double malt scotch, all beers, red wine, aaannnd an expensive Vodka paired with a great cigar. I have to limit myself. A sharp mind is important for getting work done.

Does anyone else struggle with this? Any input from other freelancers?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now