Cliff Hanger Mk II - Astro Photography

20190214_Cliff-Plants_Astro_Mk1.jpg

How awesome is this little shrub!? I do wonder if it has been naturally Bonsai'd?
This is another image from my excursion to the top of a very high ocean cliff for some Milky Way shots recently.⁣
It was pretty unnerving being up here at night by myself, precariously close to the edge at times with a gusty southerly wind blowing, dealing with light stands and my other camera equipment. It forced me to take my time and carefully manage what I was doing, step by step. I hope I can take what I learnt dealing with this location and incorporate it into my other shoots in general. When I relate how I approached this shoot with my others I tend to be more hasty and I don't think through my setups as much. I think giving myself more time and maybe not getting as excited about "just getting the shot", but staying calm and being more mindful of the process will hopefully improve my end product. And also taking the time to experiment with the space and different compositions, although that isn't always possible.⁣


Remember your dreams and fight for them. You must know what you want from life. There is just one thing that makes your dream become impossible: the fear of failure.⁣
-Paulo Coelho⁣


Canon 5D MkIV⁣

  • Rokinon 14mm f2.8⁣

  • f/2.8 20secs ISO2000⁣

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center