Mysterious Potato.

As a person who dreams of descending from a multi-story building closer to the surface of the earth and starting to grow garden crops I am interested in learning more first of all about those garden crops that are most often used in the kitchen.

Undoubtedly the primacy should be given to potatoes because they are an integral part of most soups and main courses.

Even in mush cutlets we add a little potato its rakhmal helps to keep the shape of the cutlets but you can also get by with chicken eggs.

The price of this basic product on the market is breaking records and is approaching one dollar per kilogram and if you recalculate the consumption of potatoes per month you will get a very round sum of American presidents.

In theory it's all simple: dig up the soil make a furrow fertilize spread out the seed potatoes cover them with soil periodically hill them up and weed them fight the Colorado potato beetle and you'll get a harvest.

The scheme is quite standard but the result can vary greatly from year to year and there are many factors and oddities.

Some people manage to grow potatoes in a plastic bag and get a huge harvest but I'm sure that if I do this, I won't see a harvest lol.

Of course you can try to do this, but I look at it more as a kind of fake that is cultivated among video bloggers-gardeners.

Someone will plant potatoes not in the soil but under straw and this also doesn't look much like what I can call a harvest even if I buy up all the straw in the area.

I believe more in the old-fashioned methods of planting garden crops.

It has always been a big mystery to me how the Indians in their homeland the American continent fought against potato pests while growing them.

I find it hard to imagine an Indian with a sprayer on his back spraying copper sulfate over the foliage of potato tops... but somehow the Colorado beetles didn't eat all the potatoes lol.

I think that the most natural fertilizer for potatoes is ash which could form after forest fires I think that it was in such places that the Indians grew potatoes.

Now in many countries there are bans on burning dry grass.

I understand the danger of fires but without them the soil becomes poorer harvests become smaller you need to somehow balance safety and what is the norm for nature.

Otherwise half a liter of ash under a potato bush will not correct the situation and will not revive the depleted soil.

By @barski

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
65 Comments