Connected Zombies (Photo Project)

A while ago I was looking for a theme for a long-term street photography project. It had to be something I could photograph during my daily commute to and from work on public transportation. I live in Holland and travel to and from the city of Rotterdam daily.

For a couple of days, I couldn’t think of anything, then all a sudden on a train ride it hit me!
I started noticing allot of people engaged with their smart devices. Once I started observing this behavior, it was like everywhere I looked there were these people almost like slaves captured to their light emitting device in the palm of their hands.

connectedZombies-9.jpg

connectedZombies-3.jpg

People were in such close proximity to each other, yet so separated in consciousness.
Furthermore, people seemed engaged in about all kinds of activities like riding a bike or walking their dog, yet this didn’t hinder their ability to stay focused on these devices.
This seemed in a sense that their smart devices where like a carrot leading the way.

connectedZombies-6.jpg

connectedZombies-2.jpg

connectedZombies-12.jpg

The term “Connected Zombies” for this project came to mind.
I really am not judging these people as I myself once in a while engaged with my smartphone walk a fair distance. Only wondering how I got to the end of a street without any recollection of how I got there. Pretty scary once I think about it, sounds familiar?

connectedZombies-14.jpg

connectedZombies-13.jpg

connectedZombies-10.jpg

Well who knows how the next couple of generations will evolve.
Maybe our necks will grow at an optimum angle for viewing these devices and 360 degree eye view would be helpful.

All the major automotive companies like Tesla and even the likes of Google are experimenting with self-driving car software. I’m sure they could learn a thing or two while studying at how amazing people are at object avoidance while using our autopilot brain.

connectedZombies-4.jpg
Just look at this guy! While delivering Pizza, texting and listening to music all the while driving his scooter with his elbows. And people say men can't multitask! :)

If you like this post, please share with others that you think might enjoy it.

Follow me at @apprenticeoflife

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center