Samyang 12mm f/2.0

After playing with the Samyang 12mm f/2.0 for several months (together with the Sony a6000), here are my thoughts.

  • is it good and useful? Yes!
  • Can I still make portraits? If you have whole height subject, it can be nice. Even with the waist-up, it is survivable.
  • Bokeh? Acceptable with f/2.0 or 2.8, but it is wide angle, not the bokeh machine...
  • Purple fringing, flares...? Yes if the Sun hits from the side, but survivable.
  • Is it difficult to focus manually? No! Not at all. I dedicated Fn button to live preview zoom, plus I have highlight on the sharp things, so it is as fast as auto after practicing. Bonus quality, with f/5.6 or higher - everything will be in focus.

And the final question, is it sharp?

Well, Sony makes 6000 x 4000 px images. I took the landscape image, set up the colors, erased some cables, got the jpg.
After that, I opened jpg and cut 60 x 40 px. After that, I made 600 x 400 px jpg from that. Again... So it was ruined 3 times. There is no posibility that you obtain worse results.

The cut:

Untitled-2.jpg

You can even recognize less than 10 x 10 px man sitting in the sand!

From my perspective, this was an excellent purchase, especially because it was second-hand.

Full-size image could be seen in my post about the Ftelia Beach, Mykonos: https://steemit.com/travel/@alexs1320/quiet-beach-on-mykonos-ftelia

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center