Through her lens

A few years ago now, I bought my daughter who would be around 5/6 at the time a Nintendo DS. She, like many kids born in the 21st century, was already reasonably au fait with an ipad/iphone and via her mum, a request came for an electronic toy.

The DS was one of the popular handhelds at the time for younger wiz-kids, the robust design, and front and rear cameras were just two of the features I liked. She liked it firstly because it was pink/purple, but later found more uses for it such as playing games and being creative with the cameras.


HNI_0006.JPG

Her mother and I split when she was really young, and I would become a weekend dad. I'll not dwell on this today but it was just to say that like her, I'd only get to see what happened photo-wise when the DS made the trip in her weekend bag. This would generally only happen when I was instructed to 'make it take pictures again', as the memory card would quickly become full.

I would try to educate her on deleting the completely duff photos, but that didn't happen often and so it was a case of moving the photos elsewhere to allow a fresh batch to be taken.

It was only about a year until this toy became obsolete and the iPad mini took over, but during that time I collected something like 400 pictures which weren't just white/black space or extreme close-ups of a thumb, (the total would be in the thousands otherwise :) ).

And I'm glad I did. It was interesting to see what I couldn't see - a view of the world through her lens. Here are a small selection of the pictures that made me smile whilst taking look through this morning.


HNI_0001.JPG
Sing?


HNI_0035.JPG
Swing!



HNI_0037 1.JPG


HNI_0084.JPG



HNI_0030.JPG


HNI_0045.JPG


HNI_0057.JPG



HNI_0022.JPG


HNI_0097.JPG


HNI_0037.JPG



HNI_0100.JPG


HNI_0003.JPG



HNI_0073.JPG


<3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center