My favorite photo of the month #cityscape

My favorite photo of the month - March 2018

~ Goldern symmetry in downtown Ottawa ~



This photo was taken while out on a walk in Downtown Ottawa the other day. I actually recently shared it as a supplementary picture to a previous post, but I wanted to share it again as the main subject of a post because I've really come to like it! This photo will also serve as my entry for today's #cityscape challenge by at @juliank and @photocontests.


There are three factors which make me love this picture, Here they are:

  1. I love the golden colours in the background and the way the light reflects off the building windows. I had to make sure to underexpose this image slightly when I captured it to make sure to capture the clouds and colour in the background.

  2. One of the most satisfying parts of this photo is the symmetry, especially with the couple walking in the middle of the road giving the image a centre point. I also love the contrast between the bright and colourful side of the photo versus the dark and moody side of the photo.

  3. Lastly, I really like that there was a huge amount of luck in this photo. I was lucky to be crossing the street at the right time, lucky to have my camera in my hand, lucky to be presented with such a lovely scene to photograph and, most of all, lucky that to capture the couple walking at the perfect time.


Sometimes a photo takes hours of planning, set up and waiting for the best moment to capture the shot you were planning. Other times, photos are completely spontaneous yet have the potential to yield just as much satisfaction. This photo is a testament of the latter!

I hope you liked the post and you're having a good day :)
Until next time,

Tristan

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center