seven habits, January

We are what repeatedly do.
Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.

ARISTOTLE

thatkidsblack.

I am not one to admit honestly to myself that I lack in certain aspects. After all, I’m charmingly witty and a handsome young man, with little to no issue save for the candor and swagger in my speech and step. Yet, I feel unfulfilled – unsatisfied at times, as if my inner thoughts do not align with my outer actions. Yes, a sort of cognitive dissonance plagues me at times, which is why I struggle to decline in situations where I’m certain a scheme is at play, or voice my opinion when a group takes a course of action, while I have something better in mind – at least, in my humble opinion. Even now, I can reflect that perhaps my greatest suggestions have not been to others and their shortcomings, but a sort of monologue with my own insecurity, in the form of constant reprimand and advice from yours truly. Don’t misunderstand, I have traits I can take pride in, but it seems that beneath the veneer of a mysterious and ambitious protagonist, I am a plucky kid with a few lazy habits. I hope to turn them on their head, because admittedly, I am much further today than I was yesterday. I still need to sleep earlier and get ahead on my studies, face the music and tell people how I really feel, and maybe admit to myself that all this dogma is just not how I’d like to lead my life. I still appreciate that there is more to learn, and that the journey’s far from over. It’s no exaggeration to say, I’m scared as shit but everything will be alright.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now