Dunnottar Castle Scotland – Funky Tintype Edit

Like an echo from a ruined castle,
prayer is an echo from the ruined human soul of the sweet promise of God

(William Arnot (1808–1875), a Scottish preacher and theological writer)


tintype dunnotar.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Click on the image to view full screen!


CameraEOS 5D Mark II
LensEF50mm f/1.4 USM
Exposure1/100 sec; f/20; ISO 1250
Post-processingAdobe Photoshop® CC 2017, Adobe Camera Raw, Topaz Adjust 5, Topaz Texture Effects 2 and Nik Silver Efex Pro 2

I had fun playing with this image to create what looks like the old tintype images that I have in a box somewhere! I was inspired to create something old when I saw a neat post by @winstonwolfe who created an image using the wet plate collodian look.

The tintype(ferrotype) did not actually use tin. In fact a positive image was created on a thin sheet of iron which was coated with an enamel or lacquer on top of which was a light sensitive photographic emulsion. They were extremely common in the late 1800s and were often offered at fairs and carnivals, because the process of making them was pretty quick.

In order to create my faux tintype, I started out in Photoshop CC 2018, but then added different layers from Topaz Adjust 5, Topaz Texture Effects 2 and Nik Silver Efex Pro 2. I experimented with different blending modes until I came up with this result. I think it portrays the mood of this old ruin, don't you?


Thanks for the fun #funkyedits tag, @tattoodjay and @krazypoet. Thanks to @old-guy-photos for #monochromemonday and to @winstonwolfe for creating #wwtop5pix.


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here for photography tips and tutorials from me, and some Resteemed from others!


Please check out this post to read about this week's wiwcontest theme.


my banner.png


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now