A photo inspired by Ansel Adams

I don't take a lot of black and white photos, but when I do, I like to steal location ideas from Ansel Adams.

A friend and I visited the eastern side of the Sierra Nevada, at Manzanar, California, a couple of years ago and walked around in the same area where Ansel Adams had created a famous photo of Mt. Williamson in 1944. I didn't find those same rocks he photographed, but amazingly the clouds were very similar and filtered the light into rays just like in his image from so many decades ago. Call this a "study", if you will; it's my homage to the great master landscape artist who popularized the dodging and burning techniques that we still use today.

This area is directly behind the Japanese internment camp from WWII (and that's is a whole other story).

Black and white Sierras

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center