LTJ LTJ LTJ. Lightpainter tried jumping?!?!

B3119CA1CC98461D95EE441A80FEB613.jpeg

Good morning Steem world :)

Title inspired by the terminal blocks on this disused junction box at an abandoned factory a while back.

As soon as I saw this on the wall covered in rust, spiderwebs and dust, I knew I had to use it for a lens capped double exposure.

First thing I did was frame up the box on the wall and made a note of the focus and aperture, I tried a few colour combinations at this point too and settled upon the two colours used for the photo.

I lit the box from below on the level of the wall so the inside of the box which protruded from the wall didn’t see any light therefore leaving a black space to use for the second part of the shot.

I then had my mate Dan stand by a suitable wall and whilst he practiced jumping up in time with a flash.

I set up the second tripod and obtained focus on him, whilst he was practising I quickly took a few test shots, then started the exposure, once he had jumped in the air and popped the flash I then capped the lens.

I then transferred the camera to the original tripod, reset the focus and aperture to the noted original for the junction box and proceed to light in the box by sweeping the torch along the wall in one colour below and above in the second, I then stopped the exposure and checked the back of the screen to see this little gem :)

A fun night out exploring and lightpainting, two hobbies that go hand in hand :)

Settings used:

F6.3
ISO 100
148.7 seconds
18mm

Jpeg straight from camera with no post processing in photoshop or lightroom.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center