Gamble On Doubles - Long Exposure Light Painting.

DE86A7DF1C094E1295FE9C1E0AAB4507.jpeg

Good Morning Steem,

My post today comes from an epic weekend spent in the Welsh mountains with 3 other UK light painters.

This one is a Lens Capped Double Exposure, captured in one continuous exposure.

This is where the lens cap acts effectively like a shutter between parts of the scene, allowing you to move the camera to a completely different set up or location or subject, as one might possibly do with a more traditional double exposure back in the days of film.

Tim Gamble @fadetoblack helped me with this vision I had in my head and it only took two goes to nail it.

First I had Tim kneel down on top of a small bank with a heather plant on the top, I set up my camera at the bottom of this small slope pointing upwards.

I also set up a tripod a few feet away pointing at a cave tunnel entrance, where I would get Tim to stand for the second part of the shot.

I’ve also preset up a laser and flash gelled orange slightly in the tunnel entrance on a tripod stand.

I started the camera and Tim blew some smoke at the plant, and then turned on a torch and tuned it off again, I lit Tim in being careful not to light the bottom of the slope on which he knelt.

I then capped the lens, then swapped to tripod number two facing the tunnel.

I’ve then started the laser, blew some smoke at Tim, fired off the flash and then stopped the exposure.

I love the mixture of the orange with the blue laser giving a purple hue, and the placement of an accidental star burst was unexpected but added some hilarity, although it must be said most of these meet ups with the guys end up being that way, fun, laughter and good times.

Here’s to the next one :)

Straight of of camera Jpeg.

F5.6
Iso 200
430 seconds

If you’d like to see more light painting head over to @lightpaintershub where you’ll be treated to more visual delicacies.

9B3B595D8ED7438C9A073DC41148C132.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center