ARE YOU SMART OR WISE ? || Inspired By: @hr1

I just read this essay entitled 'Is it worth being wise?' and I love him so much. right now, I encourage you to do the same as I think the author touches some important aspects of the difference between being wise and intelligent. However, I disagree with the difference of author between the two and my answer got a bit longer than I expected, so I decided to post it here.

image

First of all, it is not mentioned anywhere in the essay that the common goal of both intelligent and wise people is to be able to act in an unknown situation. Whether we're talking about a known situation, the ability to act is really just about how much experience has been collected and how much knowledge can be drawn from experience. By extracting knowledge from experience, I just want to learn about how we should act when the same situation occurs.

Wise and intelligent people have to extract knowledge from their experiences, but I think the difference is how they use that knowledge.

Wisdom

I see wisdom as an ability to apply knowledge appropriately to unknown situations. To see what is ordinary and what is different between the current situation and what has happened in the past. Acting is then based on the heuristics of how to adapt behaviors that worked in the past with this new situation.

Intelligence

Although intelligence seems to me more to an ability to generate the possibility of how to act, to predict what effect the action will do, and to seek efficiently despite its alternatives, which includes only evaluating the relevant and extending it further while ignoring irrelevant.

Of course what I'm describing here is simplification, because there are no two identical situations, so everyone should be wise up to a certain level and wise people usually consider more alternatives. But I hope you understand what I mean.

I am curious to see what you think about the essay and my answer to it.

Thanks for reading guys!

Hope useful!!!


[source] (POST By: @he1)
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center