Apologize to the Mob

It seems like it happened in another lifetime really. But, there was a time, when I was laser focused into on boarding some "big names" onto hive when it existed under a different name.

.

One such "successful" onboard was that of David Pakman. A political commentator youtuber who at the time was hovering around 300k subs. Today, he's grown exponentially and it seems like 2M is just around the corner, but I digress.

I try to listen to different perspectives and sometimes I check out what he's talking about to get a feel for what our "left" is up to these days. Unlike some lefty youtube, he's not the kind to call for taxing people at 90% or other ridiculous ideas that don't deserve my attention.

Recently, he tweeted something dumb, honestly, regarding the new gun violence incident that took the lives of young kids at a christian school. I think his attempt at being funny wasn't that great, but I don't think he meant what people are accusing him of.

He deleted the tweet, of course, and apologized for stating that thoughts and prayers aren't working, in a way that I took to be directed at the politicians who only offer these "solutions".

As per usual, the worse in us humans floated to the top and it seems like his life was threatened even. Him being a new father and what not, makes me sympathize with his resolve to backpedal as much as he could, but I insist: The mob doesn't care.

I tend to think Ricky Gervais has the formula down to an exact science. When he's attacked for making jokes, he just doubles down, triples down, and eventually the mob just gives up.

I'm convinced none of this theater matters as change will never actually come, but people love to be entertained, and I think these mass shootings have become as American as apple pie.

Nihilism... take me away

MenO

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now