Stop Reading To Start Thinking? πŸ“š Don't Read For The Sake Of It πŸ’­


Is Reading An Obstacle?

Before I get started on this post, I'd like to say, in no way am I saying reading is bad. I greatly urge you to read, however, find a book that you get pleasure from and one that you'll be able to learn from. Do not read lots but not absorb anything.

Now that's out of the way; I want to explore the harm in reading. Can continuously reading be a harmful thing? Nearly everybody tells us to read and tells us about all its benefits, however, is always reading a harmful thing? Additionally, if you read a lot, but fail to soak up any of the content, is that worse than somebody who doesn't read a lot, but absorbs in what they read?

Sometimes, I have read a book for about an hour. However, I didn't get the plot, and I failed to absorb any of the information and implement it in the real world. Many would see this as a barrier as I could have been doing something much more fruitful rather than sitting around reading imprints of black ink on wood pulp.

Absorb The Content

If I had really absorbed the content, the scenario above would 've been less useless as I would have actually done something productive. You have to think about what you are reading, not just read it. I spent an hour thinking I would stimulate my mind and ended up confused and procrastinating.

Stimulating your mind is very important. You must be doing this often preferably with a book, but before you start reading a random book and telling yourself, "I'll read for an hour today," look for a book you find pleasure from and read it for the pure thrill. Scan through the first few pages of the book, read the blurb; does it seem interesting? If yes, that is better than reading some random book. If you read a book for an ulterior motive, you may not get pleasure from it as much reading a book because you want to.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center