Take My Rifle and My Life is Gone!

"Don't let the enemies have my weapon sir."
-wounded soldier in Marawi.

Here's an artwork from Ms Shiela Anapi who had the chance to see a soldier being recued from the fronts of Marawi. It speaks highly of our soldiers' dedication to duty.

FB_IMG_1508377577416.jpg

Here is the second image from Marawi I told you I will keep with me. This soldier was being rescued amidst heavy fire in the battle zone. Though wounded on his leg, the first thing he to told his rescuers were "Sir, yung baril ko (Sir, my gun.)" Holding it as tightly as he could using the little energy left in him. It was only when the soldiers were dragging him to safety that he said where he was hit.

It still makes me tear up even to this day whenever I remember those words. It is the first time I ever witnessed, what I only hear from stories, how important a gun is to a soldier. And it was so clear to me that his words that time meant, "Do not let the enemies have my weapon Sir." Malaya na po ang Marawi. Salamat po sa inyo. (Shiela)

My respect to all the brave men and women of the uniformed service who risked their lives to win back Marawi.

Im proud to serve under the same flag.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now