The Best From Out Of Space: My Favorite Extraterrestrial Movies - A PHC Contest

This month's PowerHouseCreatives contest is all about 'Extraterrestrial Movies'. I know it's not exactly what you're used to on my blog, but take a look and discover my all time favorites.

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

I don't always join the PowerHouseCreatives contests, but every once in a while, the topic catches my interest. So did this one.

Since I'm still struggling to get content written, I thought I'd might just as well join. What's a girl gotta do on a Saturday night when she's home alone - and a little bored -, right?

I'm actually a HUGE horror fan, but I can really enjoy some science fiction at times.
When I saw that his month's Top 3-Contest was all about extraterrestrials, I honestly didn't know where to begin. I've seen such a truckload of films in my life...

Next to horror, I have this 'thing' for B-movies.You know, those low-budget commercial films that are often so bad that they are hilarious again. So, first one that came to mind was - of course - Day Of The Triffids, in which aggressive, carnivorous, mobile plants land on Earth and kill everything that crosses their path. But since I had already used that one for my Hard Fork post, I thought I'd take a different approach.

The three films I've selected are totally different from each other, but I can recommend all three.

Here it goes:



This is my entry into this month’s PHC Top 3 contest.

This months topic is EXTRA TERRESTRIAL MOVIES

1. The Dark Crystal (1982)

When I met my ex-husband, in 1997, he couldn't stop talking about The Dark Crystal. I had never heard of it before, but was curious. After finding out it had been directed by Jim Henson (yes, the creator of The Muppets) I thought it was at least worth a shot.

I fell in love instantly...

This puppet animated, dark fantasy/adventure film just swept me off my feet. It's a masterpiece that needs to be treasured.

I recently learned that a 'modern' version of the story has been made. I'm not sure whether it's a sequel or a remake. Anyhow, I don't expect it to have the charm of the original one.




2. Annihilation

Told you they would be different :0)

I don't remember how I came across this film. I just had surgery, and could do nothing but watch some Netflix for weeks. I assume I thought it would be horror, lol.

Anyway, I started watching, and was amazed by the incredible beauty of the scenery.... The colorful, LSD-like shimmer, the mirror animals, the flowers and plants that cover everything inside this strange world and even take on a human-like form... I just can't describe it; you need to see it to get what I mean.

Even today, just thinking of this film can make me smile.... One of the most beautiful ones I've ever seen (the scenery, not the story-line, though - that one is pretty regular, lol).




Picking a third one was pretty difficult... there are so many to choose from. The next one is not necessarily the best, but I do like the story behind it.

3. Men In Black

You should know... I don't like comedies... at all!

If I can avoid it, I don't watch them.. ever.

When I started watching MIB the first time, I honestly thought it was going to be a real sci-fi movie. Serious and all. I know that Will Smith should have been a clue, but at the time, it wasn't.

After 10 minutes, I was in total shock. I felt offended, abused, even. I turned it off, and for 10 long years, I refused to have anything to do with the film.

I don't remember how or when, but I ended up watching it anyway. And I must admit... if you know it's an action/sci-fi comedy, it's actually pretty funny... for as far as funny in films goes, of course.

It's definitely one I will remember for the rest of my life :0)



If you want to join, feel free. this contest is open for everyone.You have 2 more days to submit an entry.

Click HERE to find out the full details of this contest

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Curation Trail

We have a curation trail for @phctop3, which you can follow here to continue to add to the prize pool and the growth of the competition. Don’t forget to log into steemconnect.

Delegate to @phctop3:

5SP10SP25SP
50SP100SP150SP
200SP250SP300SP
400SP500SP1000SP

PHC-Footer-05.gif



signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe To RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter



SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

iSupportHHYM.gif


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center