She started out as my "Grand Dog"

When my daughter was little, my aunt just HAAAADDD to bring her this puppy. She was scrawny and skinny and wormy. "She's a Chocolate Lab!", she said. Like that's supposed to make everything ok. I work full time and didn't have time for a dog that wasn't house trained. My daughter, who at the time, was 13, just fell in love with the dog, who was named, Callie. Well, for about 5 minutes, that is. As time went on, my daughter found her a boyfriend and moved out and took Callie with her. I went to my daughters house one day and Callie was in a dog kennel outside. She was infested with fleas. Oh no, that wasn't going to happen. My daughter didn't have time for the dog any more. I put Callie in my car and brought her home with me. My middle son, said "Mom, I'll take Callie to live with me". ok son, you can take her with you. Callie lived with my son until my son got him a girlfriend, and he didn't have time for Callie any more.

Callie came back to live with me. In the mean time, my little dog passed away one night and I was in my room crying the night my little lap dog passed away. Callie had never crossed the threshold into my room before that night. It was an unspoken rule that Callie understood.

That night, all alone in my room, crying over loosing my little lap dog, Callie came into my room. Not only that, she jumped up on my bed and put her head on my shoulder and snuggled real close and just lay there... offering me all her support and love and wouldn't take no for an answer.

Well, guess what! She's not my "Grand Dog" any more! She's my child! She will never live any where else again.

True Story~Nina Stephens From @sarkhomestead

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now