That circus scene in Persuasion (1995)

e831f8f1d0e11cb7e3be6c38e7ba47de.jpeg

I posted the question regarding this scene in my period drama group and it resulted in some interesting discussion.

I wrote: "An all-time favourite, Persuasion (1995). But I would love to hear your thoughts on the final 'circus' scene. I have always found it a little confusing as to its choice. Is it to add a feeling of celebration to that moment? Compared to the rest of the film, it always felt a little out of place, a little bizarre? But I do like it when the circus recedes and leaves the two of them walking alone. Does anyone know its significance?"

Some responses included:

I agree with others that the circus parade is there to show chaos and the couple doesn’t even flinch because they are so focused on finally being together - but I think it’s weird and kills this special moment in this beautiful film.

I think it might signify how they are in their own little world, completely focused on each other and at peace being together even with any craziness around them.

This production is my all time favorite. The circus is a joyful celebration that represents the joy they feel and yet they are oblivious to everything around them and focused only on each other. (My opinion)

I always saw thr parallel of their life being a circus, and there finally reached a moment, where they came together and walked away from the "chaos" of others to make their own happy ending.

I love it because it shows how the whole world is so showy and distracting and shallow around them, but they don't even see it. All they can see is each other. It is a metaphor for the whole story.

I think it is to show they are in their own little space in time with a circus around them. As in life the characters and family members around them are as chaotic. But they are only to each other their only interest.

The circus scene was weird. I think they were trying to show that even with chaos, they were focused on each other

I agree the whimsical nature of the scene is contrasted with the intensity of the lovers’ focus only on each other. 🥰
I read an article where the filmmakers were attempting to include elements of cinematography from Ingmar Bergman’s dramatic flair and Federico Fellini, who would often incorporate circus themes.

I perceieve the circus as performers and garish similar to the aristocracy. At that scene, they finally became aware and unaffected by it. They walk off slowly but surely into a scene of looming, imposing buildings maybe representing more of societies constraints which brings them to the final scene on the sea of tranquility.

I thought it was jarring too but over time came to like the contrast between that and the solidity they show

To me it was that the world had disappeared and it was just the two of them.

What a great discussion! I love being a part of a group of like-minded people who love period drama films as much as I do.

The group is called 'For the love of period drama' on Facebook.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now