For The Women That Don't Want Kids

My six year relationship, for so many of our family members, is completely worthless.

"So when are you guys having kids?"

Giphy


It's just like any other question, except it's not. Thanks for checking in on the status of my reproductive system. After all, I'm sure we all were just put on this earth to breed.

Giphy


I've toyed with the idea. People tell me when I'm older I'll feel different. The scary thing is that I don't know if I will. At the same time, I hardly imagine guys would receive this question if they were focusing on their career and education. "Hey Brent, when were you planning on settling down and having a family?" Not happening.

I'm not the most nurturing, warm-and-fuzzy person. My friends even said if I was a mom I'd be the tough-love I'm going to prepare you for the real world type. We've even joked that I would be a stoic figure off in the distance like Bambi's dad showing up when it mattered and then promptly disappearing.

The sad thing is, I love kids. I love coloring and playing action figures with my godson. My baby cousin crawled up in my lap to watch Frozen and melted my stone-cold heart. At the same time, thinking of having one for myself just doesn't feel right.

I also respect mothers as the epitome of female badassery. They are f***ing warriors.


Is this a Millennial thing? Are we distancing ourselves from the social constructs of the past? If so, how do you know what's right for you?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center