Stargazing (Pen and Ink Illustrations)

(

There was no real planning for this illustration. I had recently made a watercolor illustration depicting a woman staring towards the space, and it was ruined a bit. The early/alternative piece for this theme was this one.

galaxyart.jpg

To be honest, I quite liked the original one, because it was colored and showed the space in the sky just like the one you see in NASA's pictures. However, the second one was based more earthly and is no less a favorite of mine. It is the sky that I always see back home. The sky was just jet black instead of colored and there were small white dots all over. There're no aurora in our part of the world, so the sky is not very colorful.

I have always loved the night sky. And I have always loved space. The space is just so beautiful and infinite, so hard to comprehend and impossible to conquer. Every second, planets are born and destroyed, and here we are thinking we're so special and important. I will not lie and say that I didn't experience a little bit of existential crisis whenever I started to think about the universe. Thinking of how insignificant my life is compared to the unending space offered me comfort even during the hardest time.

If I have the chance, I would probably want to spend my life out there. But since it's currently impossible to live there, I can only imagine.

Thank you for reading.

If you like what you're seeing, please follow and upvote me, and don't be afraid to say hi.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center