visual basic vs visual c ++

9783836216401.jpg
This is a question that has long lingered about my mind - Which language is better for DirectX, Visual Basic or Visual C ++?

I have been using Visual Basic for a long time now so that is the language that I am used to. I have dabbled some in Visual C ++, but it was Version 3.1, so in all fairness, I have not really learned Visual C ++. As far as Visual Basic is concerned, I'm running version 6.0 Professional.

The problem is that I can find for Visual Basic and DirectX. I even checked out a book at the library and it has the same flow as the rest of the resources I had to scour for. It goes something like this: DirectX objects and create a device from the DirectX object. The books also show you a few things you can do, but then all of a sudden, they're jumping straight into declaring matrixes, and rendering 3D space and whatnot.

Even though I've been using Visual Basic for a long time, it seems as though my resources leave me with a blank, deer-in-the-headlights look wondering who tore out the 5 chapters that I missed because I certainly was not ready to make the leap they were throwing out.

So I'm left wondering, should I make that switch over to Visual C ++ if I'm planning on designing 3D Games? From what I've seen and read, Visual Basic is only supported under DirectX 7 and 8. I guess what I need to know at this point, what is the advantages of using Visual C ++ over Visual Basic, and should I make that switch ? If nothing else, should I make the switch so that I have more resources available to me?

After browsing around the Microsoft website, C # and C ++? Which one would be better to use of the two if I were to switch?

9783836216401.jpgeditor.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center