How I spent my Valentine's Day

While the rest of the world celebrate this occasion with their family and friends, I was working.

I took the time to make somebody happy though.

It all started with this lady who had been tirelessly working to advocate for us. I know that where I am living now, Valentine's Day is considered an exclusive lovers/couples celebration. I know that it would look like I am trying hard to please this person but my mindset is this: everyone deserve to be treated kindly. To feel that they are being remembered. To feel that they are not alone and special on this day.

gift3836544_640.jpg
(copyright by pixabay)

To make the story short, I organized a Valentine's Day surprise for her. Considering my status and my schedule these days, I should admit to all of you folks that it was a really stressful and difficult venture. I do not even know where to order quality flowers and chocolates. My friend and I cannot even agree on how to pull the surprise but in the end, we did.

I ordered a dozen chocolate cupcakes from my neighbor and, I specifically asked her to make something that could give anyone a warm and fuzzy feeling. I think that she did not fail me. Until now, the lady is still mooning over our surprise.Since I personally do not like flowers- not as much as the ladies do, I have to rely on my friend's judgement on this.

Pulling out the surprise is a hybrid of a stealth mission and determination on my part not to fall asleep. I had been working the previous night and had only 2 hours of sleep that day. My friend and I woke up at around 5 am and at 5:30, we were "on site." We worked steadfastly knowing that the key to our mission is the element of surprise. Within 2 minutes, we were done and out of the door.

When we got home, I sent the lady a message wishing her a Happy Valentine's Day and, she really did appreciate it very much.She sent me 2 emails and gave me a call expressing her gratitude. It would have been better if she called me while I was not working but I guess, she does not want to go to sleep without expressing her gratitude.

In the end, I was happy too. Not because someone sent me a gift or made me feel special. I am glad that I made someone happy and special. That beats all the balloons, chocolates, flowers or any other presents anyone can give me this Valentine's Day.

Just as Saint Francis of Asisi used to say:

It is in giving that we receive.

I did receive more than I gave. My soul is filled with gladness and peace knowing that I made a difference in someone else's life!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center