My First Exposure To The Direct Sales Industry

Business People Marketing meeting

I was approached in my early 20's by different people in the direct sales industry. The first approach simply rubbed me the wrong way. They told me that this was a new startup company and they were looking for a computer / technical person. Since I was not looking for any changes but, I thought what the heck so I decided to check it out.

I drove to the address of the home where the meeting was held to discuss this opportunity. When I went inside I was offered something to drink. Upon arriving, I was told the meeting would start in a few minutes. They showed me a few of the products, not knowing these were part of a direct sales company product line. Some of the products I liked.

Then I learn the truth!

We were all taken to the basement where a projector was setup and we all sat in rows of chairs. The video was introduced and then played. This is when I realized it was not a new company and they really did not need my expertise. It was mislead by this approach and it really irked me. I felt betrayed, lied too, and my value was not a value to them! Yes, it was a huge turn off!

So why do I bring this up?

It is simple, if you can not be honest with anyone about your business what are you trying to hide? You are doubting your business and yourself when you do this. Fortunately, I had a friend that did the proper introduction of the business. He was honest and a friend. He true valued my opinion and me as a person. He heard about a new company and asked me to go with him to check it out. He was not part of it at this point. So he had to signup first and then i signed up under him. It was just that simple.

The morale of the story is simple.

People do business with those they know like and trust. Build a relationship first. Don't try to shove a business down someone's throat. They will spit it back up at you. If a person has a relationship with you then they will do business with you as well. You can also allow them to be a customer or a business partner.

Until next time...

My name is Paul Caraway
More Power To You!



Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://www.paulcaraway.com/my-first-exposure-to-the-direct-sales-ndustry/
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now