RE: RE: Patriotism, an Abomination
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Patriotism, an Abomination

RE: Patriotism, an Abomination

I find such ignorance astonishing.

Perhaps the miracle of the American Revolution means nothing to you. Perhaps you despise the freedoms of speech, worship, property, and self defense. Perhaps these things are cheap to one such as yourself.

But to anyone with even a cursory understanding of history, the fact that these things are found anywhere on Earth is nothing short of heart-stopping. I am forever humbled by the sacrifices of men and women who gambled everything to create a truly free country. The people you describe as simply being unhappy about their taxes are people whose boots you are not worthy to lick.

When people celebrate the 4th of July, they honor not only our brilliant founders, not only our men and women in uniform, but the communities where they live. Our farmers, our bus drivers, our school teachers, our neighbors and friends. It's an opportunity to give thanks for all the people who make up our nation (for surely, a nation is nothing more or less than the people who live there).

And I understand that you're trying to be iconoclastic. You want to be the edgy, "cool" kid who doesn't salute the flag. Let me tell you something: that flag will still be inspiring poets, philosophers, and humanitarians when you are nothing but a box of dirt in the ground.

And I understand you will take issue with my posting here. To which I say, do whatever you want to me, but don't presume to think you're righteous enough to judge my country.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center