"Why I Won't Send My Future Children To Church Youth Groups/Sunday School" My Video Blog..

I know that some may find this video blog to be very progressive or non-traditional in thought, but I truly believe that Sunday Schools and youth groups can have the potential to confuse your children without your realizing it. Please don't get me wrong....I know that there are many wonderful Sunday School teachers and youth leaders out there that are very sincere, but I still believe that parents should be careful when allowing their children to participate in such groups. I also would like to share that I am a Christian so please understand that I want the very best for Christian young people to learn all that they can about the thing of God and I mean that very sincerely. But I do feel it is important that I address these issues...

I never participated in a youth group but I did attend Sunday School on a regular basis from age 5 until the age of 17. Now, just to be fair, I learned many wonderful things in Sunday School class that still benefit me to this day. On the other hand, there were teachings that were propagated that were not always the belief of my parents or of the doctrine of the church where I attended. But even if you discount all of that, youth groups and Sunday Schools can be a distraction as they are now often designed to be an entertainment club while parents attend church in the sanctuary.

Are we really seeing the fruit of youth groups? I don't believe that this is the case. For example, most kids that attend youth groups generally leave once they graduate high school and never return to the church where they had been a member. All of those car washes to raise money on youth mission trips, Christian concerts and youth rallies, become a thing of the past as they move on to college or whatever they endeavor to do as adults. Their parents keep on going to church but they cut their own trail. Don't misunderstand me, we are all entitled to exercise free will as to whether we attend church as adults or not. But my point is that the youth ministry may not be helping that cause but rather just showing the youth a fun time while operating under the umbrella of religious involvement.

My cousin who holds advanced degrees in theology, used to work in youth ministry and realized that wasn't cut out to do it anymore because he felt that he wasn't really making a difference. He told me that parents would come to him and ask him to talk to their children about issues that they should have been discussing with their own children. Again, I'm sure that there are youth pastors that have been positive influences on young people, but at the end of the day, I think it should be the parent's responsibility to teach their children the beliefs that they wish to impart unto them.

I know that this video blog might touch on an subject that some may disagree with, but something tells me that there are a host of others who can identify with what I am talking about and that's why I decided to share it with you. I won't always make everyone happy but I do need to speak out on what I think is important and relevant so others may benefit from it.

Thanks so much for your support of my content and please feel free to follow me @breakingtonight
I appreciate all of your upvotes, resteems and comments and want to thank you for all that you do!

Have a great day! :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now