Original Art! - A parody

In Curie chat, the curators have a term for having a terrible time finding posts to submit. Desert. We are wandering in a desert, looking for an oasis of a Excellent post to save us.

I know, I know. Everyone out there is posting incredibly worthy stuff, and if we would just find it, we'd have such an easy time curating!

But the truth is, most of the posts in the new feed (where I dwell) are not exceptional. Most of them aren't even all that good. You can spend 6 solid hours looking through every new post that gets submitted and not have one post worthy of a submission.

Most of the time, what we are looking at looks more like this...

I decided to put my hard earned art skills to the test today and do a little piece for you guys to enjoy! Check out the proof of work process photos below!

20171121_151704.jpg

I call this piece, "Man Walking Home". It is an image of myself, after a long day at work, headed into my house for some piece and quiet.

20171121_150819.jpg

So here are my tools. I used college ruled paper in a 7"x10" spiral notebook, a mechanical pencil, and black ink pen.

20171121_150832.jpg

I started with the first line. This was really the hardest element of the piece. Figuring out exactly where on the page to make the initial line, and how long to make it, would dictate the eventual size of my character. So it was of the utmost importance to get this line done correctly.

20171121_150854.jpg

Here you can see the image coming together. I'm sorry, I was too lazy to edit the photo in this shot to make him standing upright. But you can see the oblong head, obviously facing toward the right (or down as this picture depicts...)

20171121_150930.jpg

It's time to give my figure a face. Adding some detail so that it is easy to tell which way the man is walking. Here I also define the hair line, and give him a little smile.

20171121_151146.jpg

Let's add the surroundings. Of course my man can't be walking to a house that isn't there. so pencilled in the house, and the front door he would be entering.

20171121_151305.jpg

Time for some pen work and inking everything. The details really start to emerge as the pen adds so much to the paper.

20171121_151704.jpg

In the end, I decided the piece needed something on the left to balance. I broke the rules and didn't pencil in the tree, just going straight to ink. But I feel like it came out okay.

What do you think?! I know it is a little rough since I haven't drawn anything in awhile. But rusty art skills come back right?

I'm going to be auctioning off this piece, and will send it out to the highest bidder at no additional charge, anywhere in the world! Happy Bidding!

Oh! And don't forget to upvote, tell your friends to upvote, and then resteem, and follow me for more great art!

Okay, I'm through with that. Whew. That was hard work!

There are some amazing artists on the platform, and I am not trying to say anything negative about the artistic community, I just wanted to find something illustrative of my point that I could do a post about. And have a little fun.

I also thought I would take an opportunity to give a little visibility to #steembay, which is a pretty cool new feature for everyone to check out. I'm going to start an auction here in this thread, and if anyone really feels inclined to try out the system on a totally inexpensive test basis, I'll gladly send stickman to you. hahaha

I hope you enjoyed a little parody to lighten your evening!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center