Paleo Vegan AIP Friendly Tortillas worthy of writing about. TRUST ME! (from thepaleomom.com)

IMG_6452.JPG

Sounds impossible, but it's true. Paleo Mom really hit it out of the park with this one. Not only are these paleo, vegan, and auto immune protocol friendly, but they don't crack when you fold or roll them up. And most importantly, they are pretty damn delicious. Try finding that at the grocery store... I haven't been able to and trust me I have tried.

Just 5 super simple ingredients plus some water.
IMG_6447.JPG

A little bit of kneading and a nice dough forms.
IMG_6440.JPG

IMG_6442.JPG

Rolling them out was pretty difficult before picking up a silpat. I highly recommend using one. Two sheets of wax paper will also work, but be prepared to use some finesse trying to get the tortillas thin AND peeling off the paper. I considered investing in a tortilla press but have read that they don't work very well with paleo flours. This part is def work, but it's worth it!

IMG_6443.JPG

A cast iron pan is a must here. This is the only cast iron I own, but I imagine one of those black, well seasoned ones would be perfect. It's on my wish list. I've tried making these with a heavy stainless steel pan and it didn't really work very well. Never tried with non stick since I avoid using anything with a synthetic coating. Heat your pan properly though and they won't stick.

They came out pretty thin! Or thin enough for me :)
IMG_6450.JPG

IMG_6454.JPG

Putting these in the fridge for the week. My daughter already confiscated 3 of them as they were coming off the pan. A little bit of grass fed butter and raw honey is her favorite :)

Here is the original recipe from The Paleo Mom... https://www.thepaleomom.com/paleo-flour-tortillas/

Give them a try and let me know how it goes!

One last note... these are paleo, but they are not carb free or ketogentic friendly. If you make them small like I did, dividing your dough into 16 balls, then each tortilla will have about 19grams of carbs and 1.5 grams of fiber.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center