I Woke Up The Other Morning

It was the day before Christmas Eve which falls annually two days prior to Christmas and exactly nine days before New Year's Day but wait. There's more to this story than that.

My phone was broken.

With the exception of maybe immediate family dying unexpectedly, not much compares to a broken phone first thing in the morning.

Not just any family, either, immediate family. Has to be someone significant like a sibling. Whole siblings only, no halfers. And parents. Possibly even grandparents if you're close enough. Not a cousin or distant uncle you haven't spoken to in 10 years. I'll trade my phone for a second cousin I've only seen at a couple funerals said no one ever.

I would opt for a broken phone if forced to decide between a broken phone, a corpse lined street out front or superglue laced eyelashes. Don't b𝘭i𝚗k!

There's worse things to wake up to I guess.


30142DC0-92CD-47BC-AB9F-09DB30F65CF9.jpeg


That's an old photo. Been a repair or two since then. There's nothing wrong with it in that glamorous portrait by the way, just looks like there is. You're an instant recipient of unrehearsed comments starring your phone when your phone's pink. I've heard it all. It's been called everything from contraband to lunch.

No mistaking it now. New screen, breathed heavily into the camera lens myself and polished it with my t-shirt. Cleared the cache and some other technical jargon. Increased the cloud space, picked up a new case and viola!


68A8FBE5-07C1-466F-BE4C-16CEC7C3A979.jpeg


Don't hate. It's an iPhone 8.

I'm not even sure what number they're on now—Apple. Last I heard it was XR or XM or XR Plus or maybe that was a Musk.

I got it in 2017. It's been a spectacular phone. The thing's sent and received only it knows how many messages. Accessed countless websites with it in multiple countries even. Written 100's of blogs on it. Listened to more songs than I can remember with it. Streaming too. No idea how many hours of crazy doorbell cam footage has played on it. Before that day before Christmas Eve, I leaned heavily on my phone for everything and then:


981F0D41-E18F-454E-B679-C23D5CC2949A.png


WTF is that⁉️

I'll never know how to properly prepare for the other side of the door again if the thing's stuck on zero. I need a new phone. Not looking forward to that. Transferring information and importing wallets and all of those authenticator keys—pita.


CEFB16AB-F15A-4617-901F-3CF119FF3249.png


Feels like what, dash 18? I don't even know what that means, "-18." Looks foreign.

First thing in the morning and my phone's stuck on zero and feels like something completely different. Neither seem realistic either. 2017, that's a long time. 5n1/2 years with the same phone and suddenly it has feelings and wants to be called something it isn't.


FAC9D1F02A3847C8B80EA048A93E898A.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
76 Comments