Gear tweaks

I'm heading out later today for a short day walk, and while I was putting my gear together, I did a few tweaks. These gear adjustments don't warrant a post on their own, so I've combined a few into one article. Perhaps you can see ways to make your gear better with a few simple changes.

img_0.6913407725166338.jpg

img_0.6488330536559621.jpg

We're about to go into summer, and somebody suggested I try a wicking cool-shirt instead of my usual merino. So, far I like the shirt in hot weather but the metal zipper pull bothers me because it can jangle. The noise is much reduced by a spring in the zipper carriage, but not enough. Easy fix: cut the metal tab off. Get a short length of type four / 275 paracord which is thinner than the seven strand 550 paracord. Remove the inner strands, loop through the zipper, tie an overhand knot and burn the frayed ends with a lighter. Jangles eliminated, job done.

img_0.905743470244022.jpg
I like using stretchy bungee cords for many things, but tent shock is too weak and ordinary bungies are too heavy. So, I use 3mm marine shock cord and these hooks. Adding two extra clips to the line adds a lot of utility without much weight. Note that the clip on one end is the opposite orientation to the others. I use these bungies as load lashings, guy ropes, gear hangs and a bunch of other uses.

img_0.4824856413099948.jpg

If the bungee is used as a guy line then the clips won't stay in place. Here's how we can use a marlin spike hitch (or slip knot) to stop the clips sliding down. First, tie the hitch below both clips then connect the upper clip to the loop of the hitch. Finally, pull tight.

img_0.8654262049209525.jpg

This cheap sling bag came with a thin nylon cord that was too short and did not stretch. I added a generous amount of marine shock cord and a cable keeper. It looks long, but it's easy enough to tuck in the excess.

img_0.23396640804421792.jpg

The drink bottle pouch is low quality, and the snap fastener holding the molle strap can easily come undone. A cheap carabiner adds extra security. If it rattles too much, I'll replace the biner with a loop of cord.

img_0.6568536252612748.jpg

At all times my gear tweaks were sniff-inspected and approved by my lab assistant Momo 沫沫. I think she was hanging about because it was close to breakfast time. If there were ever an animal that had a hobbit's temperament, it'd be the Labrador. Any time is meal time.

I hope these tweaks give you some ideas on how to improve your gear. Until next time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency