Original Glass Art: Cracked but Not Broken

This flameworked glass bead was an experiment using techniques that I learned from several brilliant tutorials and a combination of CIM and Double Helix silver glass. It took me two hours to make and kept cracking while I was working on it. I managed to heat and heal it a few times and thought I was home free but when I took it out of the kiln today it had developed several large cracks. It will have to stay on the mandrel to remain in one piece. The interesting thing is the cracks actually produce a prismatic effect inside the bead when it is held in the light, so it is more beautiful cracked than whole.

Flameworked Creation is Messy soda lime glass and Double Helix silver glass.
42mm x 40mm x 20mm

IMG_0090.jpg
IMG_0093.jpg
IMG_0084.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center