I love that the rest of the RNC debates have been cancelled... for now

I also love that they were cancelled without the front-runner Donald Trump having ever participated in them. I think in the past that these networks and the RNC kind of had the candidates by their respective genitals but not this time around. In the past things would go back and forth about who had the support of the people based on how they performed in the debates and we certainly saw how much of a circus that could be in 2016 which is where Trump actually gained a lot of his support.


image.png
src

These were actually wildly entertaining back in 2016 because there was a ton of trash being talked, plenty of cheers and boos from the crowd and a lot of the hypocrisy was on display when these guys would smile and shake one another's hands before and after all the shouting.

I didn't even watch any of the debates in 2023/24 and unless they can convince Biden to do them again - which I can't see happening since dude doesn't know how to talk - I wont watch any of the upcoming ones either. The media was once again exposed for not really being interested in the public's interest with these things too because of the fact that they actually made up a new debate between DeSantis and Gavin Newsome. Why did that even need to happen?

So while the networks showed their hand about how these are and always were about making money for themselves the Don shut the whole thing down by simply refusing to attend. Instead, he would sometimes hold rallies nearby where the debate was taking place and more people would attend that then were interested in going to the debates. While I didn't watch those either, I thought this was an awesome moment of sticking it to the system.


image.png
src

Recently, after the Iowa caucus ABC announced that they would not be having their debate unless all 3 of the front-running candidates agree to turn up. I can't imagine any situation in which DJT would bother because he clearly doesn't need them. DeSantis is refusing to give up though which I guess you could say I admire when he stated that he would go up to New Hampshire and debate 2 vacant podiums if need be. I sincerely hope that he follows through with that promise because it would be completely absurd and if there is anything that the 2024 election cycle was always going to be it is absurd.

Do it DeSantis... I dare ya!

I just now realized that DeSantis reneged on his promise to do a solo debate. I guess his handlers told him that this is a lost cause and to stop wasting money. I'm sure that dude will be back in a couple years though.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now