STEEMIT OPEN MIC WEEK 74 - "Moon Hanging Low" Original Song by @paintingangels

My love song for the moon. ♥ I've never entered the openmic before. This is my entry for the Week 74 contest. I'm not sure if I'm entering correctly, to be honest. This song is one I wrote many years ago called "Moon Hanging Low." I have an infatuation with the moon. It's almost an unhealthy obsession, really. I wrote this song one day when I was really sad, and felt very alone, and looked up at the moon and it comforted me.

I have a rare blood disorder (which is in remission) called Idiopathic thrombocytopenic purpura (ITP) and it lowered my immune system and caused me to have a problem with my fingers on my left hand, and it's been a couple of years since I was able to play guitar again. But I've been playing for a couple of months now and it's actually being really good therapy for my fingers. But my guitar skills are way down to super crappy instead of just a standard amount of inadequacy, so please keep that in mind as you listen. This is really just physical and emotional therapy for me. But it's fun to enter a contest.

(Edit: I switched to a YouTube video instead of DTube, I didn't realize that I couldn't enter a DTube video as my entry. Apologies..)

Thanks so much for listening.

Lyrics:

Moon Hanging Low

I don't think the rain
can wash this away
this wound is too deep
to heal now

But don't worry about me
I'll paint on my smile
this world is too shallow
to drown me

There is the moon
hanging low
I see that wonderful
orange glow
smiling at me
straight through the rain
that old comfort I know
keeps calling

I wish that the night
would swallow this day
and the clouds wouldn't steal
the moon from me

But the rain starts to fall
and the moon fades away
this wound is too deep
to heal now

Where is the moon?
hanging low
I miss that wonderful
orange glow
smiling at me
straight through the rain
that old comfort I know
keeps calling

steemit_open_mic_week_74_1.png

Thank you @luzcypher for hosting this contest.❤️ (And to everyone else involved! ( @pfunk ) I'm still learning names! )This is the most awesome contest I've ever seen online anywhere. It's like a virtual coffeehouse stage.)

P.S. That is my cat, Twinkie, on the couch behind me. Occasionally he moves a little bit. Ha ha! I have another cat as well, named Waffle. Yes, both of my cats are named after supercarbs. I love them so much. The cats. But also carbs. It's true.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center