Amazon Primate... (Open Mic Poetry At Mercury Cafe 3-16-2018)

Last night should have been a full moon, for all the chaos I seemed to attract... I was reading poetry at the Friday night open mic at Mercury Cafe in Denver... They brag how their open mic has existed since time began, so I am always happy to come add my ramblings to the Akoshic Record...

I had an idea on the way home from work, to sign up as Amazon Primate... People loved when I used the name Steemit Ho, so this was just an icing of lulz on the cake I wanted to both have and eat... Usually it is no problem to record myself performing, which is nice for my friends in Europe and China and South Africa, etc... I wish they could all come to Denver and see me live, but alas! It is not to be...

Neither was my perfect intro, apparently... I finally found a great table to record from, a 4-top which people had just vacated... I got all set up, with the camera zoomed in and everything... I should know better... Right before they called my name, the waitress showed up and began bussing the table, making a bunch of vibrations and inviting new folks to sit at my table while I was onstage... I had just enough time to ask her to please stop for ten minutes... She looked horrified at me, as if I had an asshole for a third eye... I had no time to explain, because the poet ahead of me left the stage, so it was time to hit the record button...

But while I was asking the waitress to not do her job, my phone went to sleep... Fuck! Suddenly I was scrambling to put it in video mode, while the host called my Amazon Primate name... Frantic, I hate when shit like this happens... It was like my ego wanted some atta boys, but the universe wasn't having any of it... I did manage to finally get the video started, but only after 10 seconds of dead, awkward silence...

So that's why I started with complaining... Hope you like the poetry... I was so upset about it last night that I thought the performance was ruined... Only after seeing it today did I realize the poems stand on their own, so are worthy of sharing with you... Enjoy the next 10+ minutes! You deserve it...

That's all I got! Takes all day to upload, and to sleep off the wine hangover...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center